First appointment with our obstetrician

14 Weeks 

Tell me I’m not the only person who stressed about choosing an obstetrician? For some reason it felt like the first BIG decision we had to make for a our little blossom. We were so relieved after our first appointment with our Doctor. Phew, right decision!

It was great to get the first appointment out of the way. It made me feel like we were on the right track and that at least we now have a doctor on side to get us through the whole pregnancy!

If you haven’t already had your first appointment with your obstetrician, the first one is pretty easy going really! Here’s what you can expect:

  • To wait – as I now realise obstetricians are not well-known for running on time. Now that I’ve thought about it,  I’d be pretty upset if my obstetrician prioiritised someone coming for their first appointment above me in labour!
  • Payment details – if you’re anything like me, you probably sorted out your health insurance before you decided you’d like to be parents. Apart from confirming I’d be covered for pregnancy I didn’t ask questions. So now that it’s a reality, I wondered how much the health insurance would cover! What would all those payments get me? The medical receptionist was great, she took us through how everything would work.
  1. Initial consultation: this was our first appointment, which we paid for on the spot (about $220).
  2. Management/ booking fee: our next appointment will be aroud 20 weeks and that’s when we’ll pay the main fee which covers the rest of the appointments up to delivery (about $2,500 for us). Medicare refund about $500 of this fee. 
  3. Labour & delivery fee: it was explained to us that our health fund will cover these fees. The account will be forwarded directly to our health fund (finally, something they cover) 
  • Get to know your doctor – this appointment was really all about meeting our doctor, getting him up to speed on our pregnancy and plans for the delivery. For us we really felt at ease with our doctor. He kept checking we were comfortable with what he was explaining and checking if we had any questions. Being first time parents we had a few.
  • Ultrasound – our doctor had an ultrasound machine in his room. It was lovely to have an another opportunity to check out our bub!
  • Food safety – I spent the first few weeks of my pregnancy having to google food do’s and don’t’s at every meal! The doctor gave us a great little booklet from the NSW Food Authority which you can downloadhere . It uses a traffic light system to let you know what you should and shouldn’t eat. No more trawling through long forum posts for the time being!
  • Hospital booking details – if you’re going to a private hospital like we are you need to book yourself in. The doctor gave us all the paperwork so that we can organise it during our appointment.

It was great to get the first appointment out of the way. It made me feel like we were on the right track and that at least we now have a doctor on side to get us through the whole pregnancy!

I’m at the stage where I’m waiting for my tummy to show! The doctor had a feel for the uteras and it was still right down near my pubic bone. I tried to take a selfie of it (above) but I think it’s more dress than baby! Oh well, all in good time xx

Leave a Reply

