Working out work

It’s what you dream of as a little girl – being a Mum. As you go through school, then uni and eventually end up working you realise that it’s not as easy as it seems. When is the right time to step out of work? How will we afford it? Is it even going to happen when we decide we’re ready?

For us we always knew that we wanted to have kids and preferably while we were relatively young. We bought a house we could afford to keep paying off and worked hard in our jobs to establish ourselves as much as possible. The funny thing is, when it comes to it, even in 2014 as a woman taking marternity leave you still feel vulnerable.

I work in Marketing for a large financial services organisation. I love what I do. I can’t stop wondering, will it affect my chances of furthering my career, will other people who don’t have kids overtake me? I work in a great company with some very flexible options for mums and dads having babies. Still, when it came to telling my manager I had a moment of nervousness…will they mind?

So my first day back for the year I decided I’d tell my manager the first chance I got. I have to say he was great. Firstly he was really happy for us and secondly he was keen to help make sure I got all the information I needed.

A nice start to telling people at work.

Leave a Reply

